柴油两级串联涡轮增压器

Garrett盖瑞特柴油两级系列涡轮增压器通过使用两个串联的涡轮增压器来增强涡轮增压的优势。这有助于改善瞬态性能,提供更佳的低速扭矩,并优化乘用车和商用车应用中的燃油效率。汽车制造商可以运用这项技术来缩小发动机尺寸或提高性能。

实现性能最大化并延长涡轮增压器的使用寿命

柴油两级串联涡轮增压器

用于柴油发动机的Garrett盖瑞特两级串联涡轮增压器可以增加涡轮增压的优势,改善瞬态性能,优化燃油效率等等。

发动机
适用范围

Garrett盖瑞特柴油两级系列涡轮增压器通过使用两个串联的涡轮增压器来增强涡轮增压的优势。这有助于改善瞬态性能,提供更佳的低速扭矩,并优化乘用车和商用车应用中的燃油效率。汽车制造商可以运用这项技术来缩小发动机尺寸或提高性能。我们的柴油两级串联涡轮增压器可用于各种发动机尺寸,从小排量车到大型64L采矿设备。但是,最常用于1.6L至3L的发动机。

柴油两级串联涡轮增压器
主要特点

将我们的两级串联涡轮增压器应用于柴油机领域,压缩机通过将工作负荷分配到两个涡轮增压器之间以最高效率运行:

  1. 新鲜空气进入第一级压缩机
  2. 压力增加2到2.5倍
  3. 加压空气被送至第二级压缩机
  4. 压力再增加2到2.5倍

在两级中间,每一级更低的压比需要更低的旋转速度。这会有效改善轴承系统、压轮和涡轮的可靠性。此外,柴油发动机的两级串联涡轮增压器使用旁通阀调节涡轮增压器之间的气体流量。这些阀门根据速度改变模式,优化小型高压涡轮和大型低压涡轮之间的气体转移:

  • 低于1500转/分钟:压缩机和旁通阀都保持关闭状态,增加增压压力和扭矩。
  • 从1500转/分钟到2800转/分钟:旁通阀开始打开以疏通涡轮增压器之间的废气。
  • 超过2800转/分钟:压缩机和旁通阀都保持完全打开状态,仅调节气流到更大的低压涡轮增压器。

在小型化设计中改善燃油经济性和驾驶性能

优点

我们的柴油发动机两级串联涡轮增压器为汽车制造商在制造发动机时提供更大的灵活性提高燃油效率使他们既可以在不影响性能的情况下缩小发动机尺寸,也可以显著提高现有发动机的动力和扭矩。其他主要好处包括:

更高的发动机热效率

降低油耗

减少氮氧化物的排放

增加压力比

柴油两级串联涡轮增压系统和智能网联汽车解决方案

Garrett盖瑞特还通过我们的智能网联汽车和先进的电动增压产品提供全面的解决方案。其中包括车载到非车载的网络安全保护、OEM诊断预测解决方案和智能动力系统。

Two Stage Serial Turbochargers for Diesel Engines

Garrett’s Two-Stage serial turbo for diesel compounds the benefits of turbocharging by using two turbos in a series arrangement. This helps improve transient performance, offers better low-speed torque and optimizes fuel efficiency in passenger and commercial vehicle applications. Auto manufacturers can use this technology to either downsize engines or increase performance.

Ask a Question

Maximize performance & increase turbo life

Garrett’s Two-Stage serial turbo for diesel multiplies the benefits of turbocharging, improves transient performance, optimizes fuel efficiency and more.

Engine Range

Garrett’s Two-Stage serial turbo for diesel compounds the benefits of turbocharging by using two turbos in a series arrangement. This helps improve transient performance, offers better low-speed torque and optimizes fuel efficiency in passenger and commercial vehicle applications. Auto manufacturers can use this technology to either downsize engines or increase performance. Our Two-Stage serial turbo for diesel can be used with a variety of engine sizes, from small single-liter vehicles to massive 64L mining equipment. However, they are most commonly used in engines ranging in size from 1.6L to 3L.

Two-Stage Serial Turbochargers for Diesel Engines
Key Features

Using our Two-Stage serial turbo for diesel applications, compressors operate at peak efficiency by dividing their workload between two turbos:

  1. Fresh air is drawn into the first-stage compressor
  2. The pressure is increased by 2 to 2.5 times
  3. This pressurized air is sent to the second-stage compressor
  4. The pressure is increased another 2 to 2.5 times

Lower pressure ratios at each stage result in slower rotating speeds. This improves the reliability of bearing systems, compressor wheels, and turbine wheels. In addition, Two-Stage serial turbos for diesel regulate gas flow between the turbos using bypass valves. These valves change modes according to speed, optimizing gas transfer between the small high-pressure turbo and the large low-pressure turbo:

  • Below 1500 rpm: Both compressor and bypass valves remain closed, increasing boost pressure and torque.
  • From 1500 rpm to 2800 rpm: Bypass valves begin to open to channel exhaust gas between turbos.
  • Beyond 2800 rpm: Both compressor and bypass valves remain fully open, regulating gas flow only to the larger turbo.

Improved fuel economy & driveability in a downsized design

Diesel Benefits

Our Two-Stage serial turbos for diesel give automakers more flexibility when building engines. Improved fuel efficiency lets them either downsize engines without sacrificing performance or significantly improve power and torque in existing engines. Other key benefits include:

Greater engine thermal efficiency

Reduced fuel consumption

Reduced NOx emissions

Increased pressure ratios

Two-Stage Serial Turbo System for Diesel and Connected Vehicle Solutions

Our Two-Stage serial turbos for diesel give automakers more options to improve their engines. Garrett also offers a holistic range of solutions through our connected vehicle and advanced electric boosting products. These include onboard-to-offboard cybersecurity protection, OEM Diagnostic Prognostic Solutions, and intelligent powertrain controls.

read more >

Garrett Motion Connected Vehicle

Ultra-Efficient Clean Diesel Platforms Can Benefit Greatly from Garrett’s Downsized, High-Temperature VNT Boosting Technology

Garrett’s sixth generation variable geometry turbo architecture (VNT) is helping auto manufacturers harness the performance potential of higher temperature diesel powertrains.

read more

Garrett Motion Showcased the Electric Turbocharger for the First Time at IAA 2019

The growing trends toward hybridization open up possibilities to transfer electric boosting technology from racetrack to road. Garrett is pioneering E-Turbo technology to deliver superior performance, fuel economy and emissions, by integrating state-of-the-art, ultra-high-speed electric motors and power electronics into its turbocharger product families.

Electrified Turbos (E-Turbos) show exciting potential and equal applicability in both light & commercial vehicles, in all fuels such as gasoline, diesel and natural gas (CNG).

learn more

the Garrett E-Turbo Technology

Request more information about Diesel Turbocharger Technologies