我们的历史

“盖瑞特”这一名称与起源于1950年代涡轮增压技术。当时,企业家兼工程师Cliff Garrett带领一个项目团队,为卡特彼勒D9履带式拖拉机开发涡轮增压器,这标记着汽车进入涡轮增压时代的开端。

我们的历史

涡轮增压技术领先地位超过60年

几乎所有主要的全球汽车制造商均使用盖瑞特技术和创新产品,全球约有1亿辆汽车使用我们的增压技术。我们平均每年推出100个新应用,横跨汽油、柴油、天然气、电力和燃料电池动力系统等方面。

盖瑞特的宝贵技术传承

“John Clifford Garrett”这一名字与涡轮增压发展的故事密不可分。在年少时期盖瑞特就表现出对工程学和航空学的极大热情,并于1928年成为洛克希德(Lockheed)第29位员工。但是,怀着经营属于自己航空公司的抱负,其于1936年5月21日在洛杉矶一个单间办公室中成立了Aircraft Tool and Supply Company(后更名为Garrett Supply Company)。到20世纪30年代末,该公司的首款产品-铝合金飞机中间冷却器已经完成。到20世纪40年代末,对二战后的技术应用的筹谋规划获得了市场的回报,盖瑞特成为了一家在纽交所上市的公司。。五十年代的标记着盖瑞特开始了多种经营和扩张之路。该公司航空航天工业的设计经验和知识为公司的在道路业务的开发提供支持。 不久,盖瑞特成为汽车发动机增压技术的代名词。

我们的历史

1954年,卡特彼勒D9履带式拖拉机采用盖瑞特Garrett® T15涡轮增压器,标志着汽车行业进入涡轮增压时代。1962年,世界上生产的首台涡轮增压量产车——Oldsmobile Jetfire Rocket,采用霍尼韦尔的涡轮增压器。1967年 :迪尔农用拖拉机选择盖瑞特Garrett T04 涡轮增压器,并很快引发整个农用机械产业的效仿。但是,真正改变整个汽车产业版图的涡轮增压创新发生在1991年,菲亚特Croma采用了霍尼韦尔VNT™(可变截面涡轮增压器)技术。这是历史上第一次实现涡轮增压器能根据发动机的具体要求,即时调整排气流量,从而实现卓越的车辆性能并提高燃油经济性。这一突破性的涡轮增压技术预示并证实了涡轮增压和直喷柴油发动机之间的完美配合,并由此开启了可变截面涡轮增压器的时代,尤其是在1995年法兰克福车展上,大众奥迪1.9升发动机获得高度评价,它的巨大成功令可变截面涡轮增压器名声大噪。

涡轮增压器正式进入大众市场

在商用柴油机领域,涡轮增压器很快就被应用于迪尔公司农用拖拉机。随着发动机制造商开始意识到性能更好、扭矩更大和燃料效率更佳的共同利益,Garrett®T04型号越来越多地应用于商用柴油机。到20世纪70年代中期,商用车已大量采用涡轮增压技术。过去30年,几乎每台商用柴油车均配备越来越先进的涡轮增压器。对于乘用车来说,20世纪70年代被证实为涡轮增压技术提速发展的转折点。

了解更多

 

 

 

蝉联冠军

赛车领域,早在二十世纪二三十年代,机械增压与涡轮增压相竞争时,涡轮增压的潜力就已经得到认可。如今,涡轮增压和电动增压技术帮助将动力转化为领先位置,在世界上一些最著名赛事中取得持久胜利,像一级方程式赛车、印地赛车、世界拉力锦标赛或勒芒24小时耐力赛。在2017年的勒芒24小时耐力赛中,帮助保时捷车队连续第三次赢得赛事冠军的头衔,这也是霍尼韦尔连续第18年为“勒芒之王”提供技术支持。2018年,盖瑞特涡轮增压技术帮助丰田汽车赢得勒芒24小时耐力赛。

Our Story

The Garrett name ties back to turbo origins in the 1950s. At that time, entrepreneur and engineer Cliff Garrett led a project team to develop a turbocharger for a Caterpillar D9 crawler tractor, marking the beginning of the turbocharged era for the automotive industry.

Our story

Over 60 years of turbo technology leadership

Garrett technologies and innovations have been used by nearly every major global auto maker, resulting in approximately 100 million vehicles with our products and an average launch rate of 100 new applications annually spanning, gas, diesel, natural gas, electric and fuel cell powertrains.

The Garrett Heritage

The name John Clifford Garrett is inextricably linked to the story of turbocharging. Garrett’s passion for engineering and aviation was evident from an early age and in 1928 he became Lockheed’s 29th employee. However, he harboured an ambition to run his own aviation corporation and on May 21, 1936, he created the Aircraft Tool and Supply Company (later the Garrett Supply Company) in a one-roomed office in Los Angeles. By the end of the 1930s, the company‘s first product, an all-aluminum aircraft intercooler, had been built. By the end of the 1940s, post-war planning had paid off with a listing on the NYSE. The fifties were marked by Garrett‘s diversification and expansion. The company’s aerospace design experience and knowledge supported the development of the firm‘s land-based business – and soon Garrett became the name synonymous with engine boosting in the automotive sector.

Our History

The story of turbo begins in 1954 when Garrett’s T15 turbo was paired with Caterpillar’s D9 crawler. Although the appropriately named Oldsmobile Jetfire Turbo Rocket became the first turbocharged production car in 1962, the technology’s impact was initially felt more keenly in commercial vehicles when in 1967 Deere selected the Garrett T04 turbo for its farm tractor range…and the entire industry followed. But it was in the 1990s that turbo went mainstream and global, when Garrett’s new variable nozzle turbine technology (VNT) enabled the 1991 Fiat Croma to adjust exhaust gas flow in direct response to specific engine requirements. And when Volkswagen-Audi paired VNT technology with its 1.9L diesel engine for its Frankfurt Motor Show launch in 1995, the symbiotic fit between turbocharging and direct injection diesel powertrains was confirmed…and evolution became revolution.

Turbo Goes Mass-Market

In the commercial diesel arena, turbochargers were soon to be adopted by Deere farm tractors. The Garrett® TO4 model found its way into more and more commercial diesel applications as engine manufacturers recognized the mutual benefits of better performance, greater torque and improved fuel efficiency. By the mid 1970s the mass-market turbo era for trucks was well underway – 30 years on and just about every commercial diesel vehicle is equipped with more and more sophisticated turbochargers. For passenger cars, the 1970s proved to be a turning point for the turbo industry.

LEARN MORE

 

 

 

Podium Power

The potential of turbocharging in the racing environment was recognized as early as the 1920s and 30s when compressor cars, which used supercharger technology, competed against each other. Today, turbo and e-compressor help to turn power into podium positions and delivers enduring success at some of the most famous race events in the world like in Formula one, Indy car, FIA World Rally or 24 Hours of Le Mans. In 2017 Garrett turbo technology records 18th consecutive victory at the famed 24 Hours of Le Mans endurance race, helping Porsche Motorsport LMP Team to its third consecutive win. And in 2018 Garrett turbo technology helped Toyota to win the 24 Hours of Le Mans.